The BMC is organizing first eSymposium on Antiviral Drug Design and Discovery

The BMC is organizing first eSymposium on Antiviral Drug Design and Discovery

Amidst the global pandemic of COVID-19, the Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry (BMC) has planned to invite the world experts in the area of Antiviral drug design and discovery to share their research findings on most viruses. The event is scheduled to take place as an online (webinar) on October 10, 2020, starting at 4:00 PM Pakistan Standard Time, which will be simultaneously broadcasted in Europe at 1:00 PM CEST and in the USA at 8:00 AM EST. Dr Celia Schiffer from the University of Massachusetts Medical School is the keynote speaker of this eSymposium who will present the envelop model as a rational approach to design antiviral drugs that can beat the drug resistance-a common phenomenon that causes the failure of many antivirals and other drugs in the treatment of diseases. Dr. Akbar Ali from the same university will present his findings in the designing and discovery of various viral protease inhibitors, and the associated medicinal chemistry and structure-activity relationships.

Dr. Alan Spivey from the Imperial College London is an expert in the area of organic synthesis and will present various synthetic approaches toward the preparation of drug molecules. Dr Jochen Bodem from University of Wurzburg will disseminate his recent findings in virology. Lastly, Dr Connor Coely from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) will present the role of artificial intelligence in modern drug discovery area.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Announcements

Share the joy